2023 Institute of Government Graduates Recognized


Forty-three county officials recently graduated from the South Carolina Association of Counties’ (SCAC) Institute of Government for County Officials, Levels I and II.

 “It is an honor for me to recognize members of the class of 2023,” said 2022-23 SCAC President Debra B. Summers, Lexington County Councilwoman, when recognizing graduates at the SCAC Annual Conference general session on Aug. 2. “Thank you for your dedication to county government, as demonstrated by your graduation.”

Level 1 graduates were:

  • Anderson County—Glenn Davis, Council Member; Matt Hogan, Roads and Bridges Manager
  • Bamberg County—Chip Maier, IT and Administration
  • Barnwell County—Linda Cook, Human Resource Manager
  • Beaufort County—Jared Fralix, Assistant County Administrator
  • Chesterfield County—Benjamin Conklin, Council Member
  • Clarendon County—Hampton Barrineau, Director Emergency Management
  • Dillon County—Detrice Dawkins, Council Vice Chairwoman
  • Fairfield County—Douglas Pauley, Council Chairman
  • Greenville County—Stephen Shaw, Council Member
  • Horry County—Ashley Carroll, Clerk to Council; Barry Spivey, Council Member
  • Lancaster County—Cathy McDaniel, Procurement Director
  • Laurens County—Jeff Carroll, Council Vice Chairman; Shirley Clark, Council Member; Melissa Ferqueron, Executive Assistant to the County Administrator; Thomas Higgs, County Administrator; Cheyenne Noffz, Clerk to Council
  • Lexington County—Amber Conger, Library Director; Michael Spires, Deputy Administrator
  • McCormick County—Jacqueline Brown, Council Member
  • Orangeburg County—Joseph Garvin, Council Member
  • Richland County—Gretchen Barron, Council Member; Anette Kirylo, Clerk to Council; Jesica Mackey, Council Vice Chairwoman; Lori Thomas, Assistant County Administrator
  • Sumter County—Carlton Washington, Council Member

 Level II graduates were:

  • Bamberg County—Everett Comer, Council Vice Chairman
  • Beaufort County—Denise Christmas, Finance Director
  • Berkeley County—Steve Davis, Council Member
  • Chester County—Mike Levister, Planning/Zoning Director
  • Dorchester County—Stuart T. Friddle, Council Chairman
  • Fairfield County—Shirley Greene, Council Member
  • Greenville County—Mike Barnes and Stephen Shaw, Council Members
  • Jasper County—John Kemp, Council Member; Cathy McDaniel, Procurement Director
  • Lexington County—Lynn Sturkie, County Administrator
  • McCormick County—Charles Cook, Council Member
  • Newberry County—John Scurry, Council Member
  • Oconee County—John Elliott, Council Chairman
  • Williamsburg County—Torrance Wilson, Council Member
  • York County—Karen Brogdon, Clerk to Council

The Institute of Government for County Officials provides elected county leaders and employees with the opportunity to enhance their skills and abilities. Participants must complete 27 hours of instruction to graduate from Level I and 18 hours of instruction to graduate from Level II. The next round of classes will be held in October in conjunction with the SCAC Fall Advocacy Meeting. 

SCAC partners with the Joseph P. Riley Jr. Center for Livable Communities, College of Charleston, to offer the Institute of Government three times a year. Clemson University’s Master of Public Administration program sponsors the Institute.