County Information

SC county mapThere are 46 counties in South Carolina ranging in population from 9,958 (McCormick County) to 379,616 (Greenville County).

Counties operate under four forms of government: council (six counties); council-supervisor (four counties); council-administrator (34 counties); and council-manager (two counties). Under the council form, the council has responsibility for policymaking and administration. Under the council-supervisor form, administrative responsibility resides in an elected supervisor who serves as chair of council, but only votes in case of a tie. In both the council-administrator and council-manager forms, administrative responsibility rests with a professional administrator/manager who reports to the council. In the council-manager form, the auditor and treasurer may be appointed by the council rather than elected.

County council members are elected to two- or four-year terms, either at large or by single member districts. All county elections are partisan. Constitutional officers elected to four-year terms are the clerk of court, coroner and sheriff. Statutory officers elected countywide to four-year terms are the auditor, treasurer and probate judge. Some counties also elect a register of deeds.

All counties operate on a July 1–June 30 fiscal year.

County Population Land Area County Seat Website
Abbeville County 25,417 508 Abbeville http://www.abbevillecountysc.com
Aiken County 160,099 1,073 Aiken http://www.aikencountysc.gov
Allendale County 10,419 408 Allendale http://www.allendalecounty.com
Anderson County 187,126 718 Anderson http://www.andersoncountysc.org
Bamberg County 15,987 393 Bamberg http://www.bambergcounty.sc.gov
Barnwell County 22,621 548 Barnwell http://www.barnwellcountysc.us
Beaufort County 162,233 587 Beaufort http://www.bcgov.net
Berkeley County 177,843 1,098 Moncks Corner http://www.berkeleycountysc.gov
Calhoun County 15,175 380 St. Matthews http://www.calhouncounty.sc.gov
Charleston County 350,209 919 Charleston http://www.charlestoncounty.org
Cherokee County 55,342 393 Gaffney http://www.cherokeecountysc.gov
Chester County 33,140 581 Chester http://www.chestercounty.org
Chesterfield County 46,734 799 Chesterfield http://www.chesterfieldcountysc.com
Clarendon County 34,971 607 Manning http://www.clarendoncountygov.org
Colleton County 38,892 1,056 Walterboro http://www.colletoncounty.org
Darlington County 68,681 561 Darlington http://www.darcosc.com
Dillon County 32,062 405 Dillon http://www.dilloncounty.sc.gov
Dorchester County 136,555 575 St. George http://www.dorchestercountysc.gov
Edgefield County 26,985 502 Edgefield https://edgefieldcounty.sc.gov/
Fairfield County 23,956 687 Winnsboro http://www.fairfieldsc.com
Florence County 136,885 800 Florence http://www.florenceco.org
Georgetown County 60,158 815 Georgetown http://www.georgetowncountysc.org
Greenville County 451,225 790 Greenville http://www.greenvillecounty.org
Greenwood County 69,661 456 Greenwood http://www.greenwoodsc.gov
Hampton County 21,090 560 Hampton http://www.hamptoncountysc.org
Horry County 269,291 1,134 Conway http://www.horrycounty.org
Jasper County 24,777 656 Ridgeland http://www.jaspercountysc.org
Kershaw County 61,697 726 Camden http://www.kershaw.sc.gov
Lancaster County 76,652 549 Lancaster http://www.mylancastersc.org
Laurens County 66,537 715 Laurens http://www.laurenscountysc.org
Lee County 19,220 410 Bishopville http://www.leecountysc.org
Lexington County 262,391 699 Lexington http://www.lex-co.sc.gov
Marion County 33,062 489 Marion http://www.marionsc.org
Marlboro County 28,933 480 Bennettsville http://www.marlborocounty.sc.gov
McCormick County 10,233 360 McCormick http://www.mccormickcountysc.org
Newberry County 37,508 631 Newberry http://www.newberrycounty.net
Oconee County 74,273 625 Walhalla http://www.oconeesc.com
Orangeburg County 92,501 1,106 Orangeburg http://www.orangeburgcounty.org
Pickens County 119,224 497 Pickens http://www.co.pickens.sc.us
Richland County 384,504 756 Columbia http://www.richlandcountysc.gov/
Saluda County 19,875 452 Saluda http://www.saludacounty.sc.gov
Spartanburg County 284,307 811 Spartanburg http://www.spartanburgcounty.org
Sumter County 107,456 665 Sumter http://www.sumtercountysc.org
Union County 28,961 514 Union http://www.countyofunion.org
Williamsburg County 34,423 934 Kingstree http://www.williamsburgcounty.sc.gov
York County 226,073 682 York http://www.yorkcountygov.com