Edgefield Earns SC Insurance Trusts Safety Award

SCAC Director of Insurance Services Robert Benfield (center) presents the award to Edgefield County Council including  (from left): 

Vice Chairman Albert Talbert, Council Member Jerry Moody, Personnel Director/Risk Manager  Lee Ann Anderson, Council Member Dr. Jacqueline Kennion, and Chairman Dean Campbell.

Edgefield County received the SC Counties Workers’ Compensation Trust Experience Modifier Award for having the third lowest experience modifier in the Trust, out of 41 counties.

The experience modifier is the actual costs of the county’s workers’ compensation claims compared to their expected costs. Edgefield County’s lower than expected claims costs resulted in a 42% savings off of their workers’ compensation insurance premium. The county’s efforts saved its taxpayers more than $140,000!

Congratulations to Edgefield County and Personnel Director/Risk Manager Lee Ann Anderson for demonstrating this outstanding commitment to risk management and safety!

Each year the SC Counties Insurance Trusts recognize counties who have made significant achievements in their risk management and safety programs. Awards are announced at the annual Insurance Trusts meeting in the winter, and SC Association of Counties representatives travel to present the awards to county councils statewide throughout the spring. See the full list of 2024 award winners