(Mar. 2017–Mar. 2019)

David Alford
Florence County

1st Vice President
Katy Smith
Anderson County

2nd Vice President
Marie Smalls
Beaufort County

Joe Debney
Charleston County

Adam Hammons
Berkeley County

Debra Bryant
Hampton County

Angela Upchurch — Dist. 1
Naomi DeFrenn — Dist. 2
Kim London — Dist. 3
Henry Laye — Dist. 4
Debbie Stidham — Dist. 5
Patti Jeffcoat — Dist. 6
Lori Moses — Dist. 7

Immediate Past President
Wanda Hemphill
York County

S.C. Association of Registration and Election Officials

SCARE logoWelcome to the South Carolina Association of Registration and Election Officials (SCARE) Website. We hope you find this site useful, and we encourage you to contact us with comments and suggestions on how this web site can serve you better.

The purpose of SCARE is to provide a forum for registration and election officials to study, discuss and recommend improvements in registration/election laws; to exchange ideas and experiences; to promote and encourage education for officials; to distribute information about registration/election laws; and to promote legislation which will endorse the efficiency of the registration and election process in South Carolina.

S.C. Voter Registration

Mail Application

Federal Voting Assistance Program logo

Click for Absentee Voting Assistance to Uniformed Services Members and Citizens Living Outside the U.S.


Legislation Information


David Alford
SCARE President
(843) 610-2929