

SOUTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES

Dwight L. Stewart Jr., President *Clarendon County*

> Michael B. Cone Executive Director

Timothy C. Winslow Executive Director – Elect

August 13, 2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

<u>NOTE</u>: Upon request, photos will be provided by e-mail.

Contact: Stuart Morgan Public Information Director

SCAC ELECTS PRESIDENT, CLARENDON COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIRMAN DWIGHT L. STEWART JR.

SCAC ELECTS OTHER OFFICERS; ELECTS TWO BOARD MEMBERS AND RE-ELECTS THREE BOARD MEMBERS

SCAC elected officers for 2019–20 at its 52^{nd} Annual Conference, held August 3 – 7. The SCAC also elected two board members and re-elected three board members.

Elected PRESIDENT was Clarendon County Council Chairman Dwight L. Stewart Jr. He succeeds McCormick County Council Chairman Charles T. Jennings, who served as SCAC President for 2018–19.

"I'm honored to have been elected to serve as SCAC president, and look forward to working with all county officials across South Carolina," said SCAC President Dwight L. Stewart Jr. "One area of concern I have is solid waste disposal, which is a problem for all South Carolinians. I hope that we can all work together to find solutions and to control the problem."

SCAC's new president encouraged county officials to offer feedback and to suggest ways to strengthen the Association of Counties.

"SCAC's immediate past president, Charles Jennings, and the Association's staff did an excellent job building our relationship with members of the state legislature," Stewart said, "and it's essential that we all continue to work together for the citizens of our great state."

Stewart, serving his fifth term as chairman of Clarendon County Council, previously served as a council member for the Town of Summerton from 1980 to 2000.

Since 1985, he has owned Dwight L. Stewart Jr. and Associates in Manning which offers real estate, appraisal and forest management services. Stewart received his real estate license for South Carolina and North Carolina in 1976, and is a registered forester in South Carolina, North Carolina and Georgia.

He graduated from McClenaghan High School in 1966. Upon receiving his Bachelor of Science degree in Forestry from Clemson University in 1970, Stewart was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army. After graduating from Engineer Officer Basic School at Fort Belvoir, Va., he then served for eight years in the U.S. Army Reserve.

Stewart was employed in 1971 as a project forester by Georgia-Pacific Corporation and worked as a district area forester for Georgia-Pacific from 1972 to 1974, managing 50,000 acres of company land. He joined the firm of Bartow S. Shaw and Associates in Sumter as a consulting forester in 1974 and became vice-president of Shaw, Bullock and Stewart in 1979.

Stewart is past president of the S.C. Society of Consulting Foresters, a member and past president of the S.C. Chapter of the Association of Consulting Foresters, and a member and past chairman of the S.C. Forestry Association. He is also a member of the Society of American Foresters (SAF), twice past chairman of the S.C. Division of SAF, past board member of the Congaree Land Trust and past chairman of the S.C. Tree Farm Committee.

As a state-certified general appraiser in South Carolina and a certified appraiser in Georgia and North Carolina, Stewart has performed numerous appraisals for a variety of private and corporate clients since 1976.

He and his wife, Sherry Martin of Summerton, have three children and seven grandchildren. He and his wife are elders at the Summerton Presbyterian Church.

SCAC ELECTS OTHER OFFICERS

The SCAC elected other officers as follows: FIRST VICE PRESIDENT—Johnnie Wright Sr., Orangeburg County Council Chairman; SECOND VICE PRESIDENT—Paul A. Cain, Oconee County Council Vice Chairman; THIRD VICE PRESIDENT—Debra B. Summers, Lexington County Council Member; SECRETARY—Steve Willis, Lancaster County Administrator; and TREASURER—Belinda D. Copeland, Darlington County.

SCAC ELECTS TWO BOARD MEMBERS AND RE-ELECTS THREE BOARD MEMBERS

The SCAC elected two board members: Ray Graham, Anderson County Council Vice Chairman, and Joseph G. Mergo III, Lexington County Administrator. The Association also re-elected three board members: Cam Crawford, Horry Council Member; J. Frank Hart, Union County Supervisor/Chairman; and William E. Robinson, Allendale County Council Member. Terms for these five board members will expire in 2023.

The SCAC voted for Henry H. Livingston III, Newberry County Council Chairman, to serve the unexpired term of Debra B. Summers, who moved up to third vice president. Livingston's term will expire on Jan. 1, 2020.

The SCAC, chartered on June 22, 1967, is a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization whose membership includes all 46 counties in South Carolina. Governed by a 29-member board of directors elected each year by county officials at the Association's annual conference, the SCAC is the only organization representing county governments in the state.

The Association provides a number of services, programs, and activities to county governments and their officials, including: research and technical assistance; education and training; legal assistance; policy development, advocacy, and legislative information; publications, including a magazine and newsletter; meetings and conferences; public information, including an annual directory and website; and financial services, including the S.C. Counties Workers' Compensation Trust and S.C. Counties Property & Liability Trust.

###