

Dwight L. Stewart Jr., President Clarendon County

Michael B. Cone Executive Director

Timothy C. Winslow Executive Director - Elect

August 13, 2019

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

NOTE: Upon request, photos will be provided by e-mail.

Contact: Stuart Morgan
Public Information Director

Forty-Five County Officials Graduate From the Institute of Government for County Officials

Forty-five county officials graduated on August 6 from Levels I and II of the Institute of Government for County Officials at SCAC's 52^{nd} Annual Conference, held August 3-7.

"We're proud of your achievement," said 2018-19 SCAC President Charles T. Jennings (McCormick County Council Chairman), who recognized graduates at the conference's general session on August 6. "Your commitment to county government is admirable, your perseverance is commendable, and your success is well-deserved."

LEVEL I

Graduating from Level I were: ABBEVILLE COUNTY—David Garner, County Director; CHESTERFIELD COUNTY—Hattie Burns and Benjamin Teal, Council Members; C. Heath Ruffner, County Attorney; DORCHESTER COUNTY—Daniel Prentice, Chief Financial Officer; FAIRFIELD COUNTY—Patti Davis, Clerk to Council; GREENVILLE COUNTY—Mike Barnes, Council Member; LAURENS COUNTY—Jon Caime, County Administrator; ORANGEBURG COUNTY—Richard Hall, Community Development Director; James Okoronkwo, Assistant Finance Director; RICHLAND COUNTY—Yvonne McBride, Council Member; Kimberly Williams-Roberts, Clerk of Council; SALUDA COUNTY—Jones Butler, Council Member; SPARTANBURG COUNTY—Bob Walker, Council Member; and WILLIAMSBURG COUNTY—Jonathan Miller, Council Member.

LEVEL II

Graduating from Level II were: ABBEVILLE COUNTY— Harold Prince, Council Chairman; Kristi Smith, Council Vice Chairman; Charles Goodwin, Council Member; ANDERSON COUNTY—Ray Graham, Council Vice Chairman; BARNWELL COUNTY—Ben Kinlaw, Council Chairman; Jerry Creech and Don Harper, Council Members; BERKELEY COUNTY—R. Les Blankenship, Deputy County Supervisor; CALHOUN COUNTY—Theodore Felder, County Administrator; CHESTERFIELD COUNTY—Hattie Burns, William Butler and Ralph Watson, Council Members; Timothy Eubanks, County Administrator/Public Works Director; DARLINGTON COUNTY—J. Lewis Brown, Council Vice Chairman; David Coker and Joyce Thomas, Council Members; Marion Stewart, County Administrator; FAIRFIELD COUNTY—Eric Robinson, Library Director; FLORENCE COUNTY—Kent Caudle and Jason Springs, Council Members; LANCASTER COUNTY—Billy Mosteller, Council Member; LEE COUNTY—Clarence Caudill, Assessor; NEWBERRY COUNTY—Karen Brehmer, Assistant to the County Administrator; Harriett Rucker, Council Member; OCONEE COUNTY—Paul Cain, Council Vice Chairman; PICKENS COUNTY—Roy Costner, Council Chairman; Chris Bowers, Council Vice Chairman; R. Ensley Feemster and Wes Hendricks, Council Members; and WILLIAMSBURG COUNTY—Jonathan Miller, Council Member.

The SCAC — in cooperation with the Joseph P. Riley Jr. Center for Livable Communities, College of Charleston, holds the Institute of Government for County Officials three times per year. The Institute of Government provides county officials the opportunity to enhance their skills and abilities to function more effectively.

County officials must complete 27 hours of instruction to graduate from Level I, and 18 hours of instruction to graduate from Level II.

The SCAC, chartered on June 22, 1967, is a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization whose membership includes all 46 counties in South Carolina. Governed by a 29-member board of directors elected each year by county officials at the Association's annual conference, the SCAC is the only organization representing county governments in the state.

The Association provides a number of services, programs and activities to county governments and their officials, including: research and technical assistance; education and training; legal assistance; policy development, advocacy and legislative information; publications, including a magazine and newsletter; meetings and conferences; public information, including an annual directory and website; and financial services, including the S.C. Counties Workers' Compensation Trust and S.C. Counties Property & Liability Trust.

###