Moore Award Winners

The Moore Award was established in memory of Betty Moore, who worked tirelessly to form a state association of registration and election officials, and her daughter, Marsha. This award is fashioned after the J. Mitchell Graham Award of the Association of Counties -- The award is presented to a member of SCARE who best exemplifies the spirit of the organization through their continued unselfish giving of time and efforts to make the Association a more educated, concerned group that promotes training in individuals, as well as each county.

Each January at the legislative conference of SCARE, this award is presented to a member of the organization who has shown outstanding service in the field of voter registration and elections. Nominations may be made by any member for consideration of a committee.

The Moore Award is a silver bowl engraved with SCARE Moore Award and the year, name, and county of the recipients to date. This is passed on each year, with a smaller, engraved silver bowl retained by the honoree.

Past recipients are:

- 1992 James B. Ellisor, State Election Commission
- 1993 Mickey R. Miller, Charleston
- 1994 Helen L. Hutchinson, Charleston
- 1995 Joe B. Medlock, Laurens
- 1996 Connie P. Coe, Horry
- 1997 John L. Chisolm, Charleston
- 1998 Mike Cinnamon, Richland County
- 1999 Earl Whalen, Orangeburg County
- 2000 Helen Smith, Marion County
- 2001 Hoyt Campbell, Darlington County
- 2002 Judy Hayes, Spartanburg County
- 2003 Betty Whitesides, York County
- 2004 Betty Kilgus, Bamberg County
- 2005 Frances Pennington, Aiken County
- 2006 Barbara Blanchard, Spartanburg County
- 2007 Dorothy Kennerly, Orangeburg County
- 2008 Agnes Garvin, Beaufort County
- 2009 Edith Redden, Williamsburg County
- 2010 Helen Belk, Union County
- 2011 Marilyn Bowers, Charleston County