History

In the beginning...

In 1973, two Election and Registration Administrators - Betty Moore, Spartanburg County, and Nelle Power, Greenville County - set up a meeting with Jim Ellisor, Executive Director of the State Election Commission to make plans for an organization of South Carolina Registration and Election Officials (S.C.A.R.E.).

At an election workshop in August, 1974, Mr. Ellisor stressed the importance of forming an Association of Registration and Election Administrators. He stated that the 1975 SCAC Annual Conference would be an appropriate opportunity to form an organization. When the 8th Annual Conference of SCAC convened in August, 1975, twenty-five counties and fifty-four Registration and Election representatives were present.

Netta Whisnant, Chairman of the Registration Board at Florence, was elected temporary Chairman and presided over the session to organize S.C.A.R.E. Nelle Power was elected temporary Secretary. When Chairman Whisnant asked representatives if they wished to organize this association, the vote was unanimously in favor.

Officers were elected. James O. Thompson, Spartanburg County, was elected President. Other officers included Johnston Peeples, 1st Vice President, Jerry Torrence, 2nd Vice President, Nelle Power, Secretary, and Netta Whisnant, Treasurer.

Over the years S.C.A.R.E. has evolved into a lobbying force and a useful resource for registration and election officials. The purpose of S.C.A.R.E. is to study, discuss and recommend improvements in laws; to investigate and provide a means for the exchange of ideas and experiences between county registration and election officials; to promote educational opportunities for officials; to collect, analyze and distribute information about registration and election laws; and to review and promote legislation to endorse the efficiency of the registration and election process in South Carolina.

Past Presidents

Lynn Fata, Lee County	2001-2013
Conway Belangia, Greenville County	2009-2011
Edith M. Redden, Williamsburg County	2006-2009
Earl Whalen, Orangeburg County	2004-2005
Marilyn Bowers, Pickens County	2003-2004
Hoyt Campbell, Darlington County	2001-2002
Agnes Garvin, Beaufort County	1999-2000
Pan Millwood, Anderson County	1997-1998
Helen Smith, Marion County	1995-1996
Connie Coe, Horry County	1993-1994
Joe Medlock, Laurens County	1991-1992
Mickey Miller, Charleston County	1989-1990
George Barnes, Orangeburg County	1986-1988
Nell Power, Greenville County	1984-1985
Betty Moore, Spartanburg County	1982-1983
Betty Taylor, Charleston County	1980-1981
Mike Cinnamon, Richland County	1978-1979
James O. Thomason, Spartanburg County	1975-1977