

SOUTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF COUNTIES

Charles T. Jennings, President McCormick County

> Michael B. Cone Executive Director

> > August 14, 2018

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

<u>NOTE</u>: Upon request, photos will be provided by e-mail.

Contact: Stuart Morgan
Public Information Director

FIFTY-SIX COUNTY OFFICIALS GRADUATE FROM THE INSTITUTE OF GOVERNMENT FOR COUNTY OFFICIALS

Fifty-six county officials graduated on August 7 from Levels I and II of the Institute of Government for County Officials at SCAC's 51st Annual Conference (August 5 – 7).

"We are proud of your achievement," said 2017–18 SCAC President Henry H. Livingston III, who recognized graduates at the conference's general session. "Your commitment to county government is admirable, your perseverance is commendable, and your success is well-deserved."

LEVEL I

Graduating from Level I were: ABBEVILLE COUNTY—Charles Goodwin, Harold Prince and Kristi Smith, Council Members; ALLENDALE COUNTY—Nicole Y. Gaines, Clerk to Council; ANDERSON COUNTY—Ray Graham, Council Vice Chairman; BARNWELL COUNTY—Ben Kinlaw, Council Vice Chairman and Don Harper, Council Member; CHEROKEE COUNTY—J. Quay Little, Council Vice Chairman; CHESTERFIELD COUNTY—Mary D. Anderson, William R. Butler, and Ralph E. Watson, Council Members; and Timothy L. Eubanks, Interim County Administrator; DARLINGTON COUNTY—J. Lewis Brown and Joyce W. Thomas, Council Members; Marion Charles Stewart III, County Administrator; FAIRFIELD COUNTY—Cornelius Robinson, Council Member; GEORGETOWN COUNTY—Austin Beard, Council Vice Chairman; Allison S. Peteet, Treasurer; GREENVILLE COUNTY—Ennis Fant, Council Member; GREENWOOD COUNTY—Theo Lane, County Council; HAMPTON COUNTY—Jennifer Youmans, Treasurer; KERSHAW COUNTY—Michael Conley, Planning/Zoning Director; LANCASTER COUNTY— Billy Mosteller, Council Member; Sherrie M. Simpson, Clerk to Council; Chelsea Gardner, Deputy Clerk to Council; LAURENS COUNTY—Garrett C. McDaniel, County Council Member; LEXINGTON COUNTY—Scott R. Whetstone,

1919 Thurmond Mall • P.O. Box 8207 • Columbia, SC 29202-8207

Phone: (803) 252-7255 • Fax: (803) 252-0379 • E-mail: scac@scac.sc • Website: http://www.sccounties.org

Building Stronger Counties for Tomorrow

Council Member; NEWBERRY COUNTY—Harriett L. Rucker, Ed.D., Council Member; Karen Brehmer, Assistant to the County Administrator; OCONEE COUNTY—James Glenn Hart, Council Member; PICKENS COUNTY— Roy Costner III, Council Chairman; Chris Bowers, Council Vice Chairman; R. Ensley Feemster, Ralph Guarino Jr., Finance/Purchasing Director; Wes Hendricks and Carl Lee Hudson, Council Members; SPARTANBURG COUNTY—Justin T. Bradley and Whitney Leonard Farr, Council Members; and UNION COUNTY—J. Frank Hart, Supervisor/Chairman; Tommie Lee Hill, Joan W. Little and Ralph Tucker, Council Members.

LEVEL II

Graduating from Level II were: BEAUFORT COUNTY—Alice G. Howard, Council Member; CHESTER COUNTY—K. Shane Stuart, Supervisor/Chairman; CHESTERFIELD COUNTY—Mary D. Anderson, Council Member; DORCHESTER COUNTY—C. David Chinnis, Council Member; FAIRFIELD COUNTY—Daniel Walter Ruff III, Council Member; FLORENCE COUNTY—Alphonso Bradley, Council Member; GEORGETOWN COUNTY—Austin Beard, Council Vice Chairman; GREENVILLE COUNTY—Regina McCaskill, Clerk to Council; GREENWOOD COUNTY—Mark Allison, Council Member; LANCASTER COUNTY—Bradford Carnes, Assessor; Eric Rowell, Deputy Appraiser; Lee Weeks, Tax Collector; LEXINGTON COUNTY—Ned R. Tolar, Council Member; RICHLAND COUNTY—Jeannette W. McBride, Clerk of Court; Michelle Onley, Deputy Clerk to Council; UNION COUNTY—J. Frank Hart, Supervisor/Chairman; Joan W. Little, Council Member; and WILLIAMSBURG COUNTY—Betty F. Matthews, Probate Judge.

The SCAC — in cooperation with the Joseph P. Riley Jr. Center for Livable Communities, College of Charleston, and the Strom Thurmond Institute of Government and Public Affairs, Clemson University — holds the Institute of Government for County Officials three times per year. The Institute of Government provides county officials the opportunity to enhance their skills and abilities to function more effectively.

County officials must complete 27 hours of instruction to graduate from Level I, and 18 hours of instruction to graduate from Level II.

The SCAC, chartered on June 22, 1967, is a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization whose membership includes all 46 counties in South Carolina. Governed by a 29-member board of directors elected each year by county officials at the Association's annual conference, the SCAC is the only organization representing county governments in the state.

The Association provides a number of services, programs and activities to county governments and their officials, including: research and technical assistance; education and training; legal assistance; policy development, advocacy and legislative information; publications, including a magazine and newsletter; meetings and conferences; public information, including an annual directory and website; and financial services, including the S.C. Counties Workers' Compensation Trust and S.C. Counties Property & Liability Trust.