

Charles T. Jennings, President McCormick County

Michael B. Cone Executive Director

August 14, 2018

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

<u>NOTE</u>: Upon request, photos will be provided by e-mail.

Contact: Stuart Morgan Public Information Director

SCAC ELECTS NEW PRESIDENT, McCormick County Council Chairman Charles T. Jennings

SCAC ELECTS OTHER OFFICERS; ELECTS THREE BOARD MEMBERS AND RE-ELECTS FOUR BOARD MEMBERS

SCAC elected officers for 2018–19 at its 51st Annual Conference (August 5 – 7). The SCAC also elected three new board members and re-elected four board members.

Elected PRESIDENT was McCormick County Council Chairman Charles T. Jennings. He succeeds Henry H. "Buddy" Livingston III (Newberry County Council Chairman), who served as SCAC President for 2017–18.

"It is truly an honor for me to be elected to serve as president of the South Carolina Association of Counties for the coming year," said Charles T. Jennings. "Under the outstanding leadership of Buddy Livingston, we have successfully completed another challenging year.

"I will be calling on county leaders across the state in the coming months," Jennings added, "as we develop our legislative agenda for the 2019 legislative session and continue our work for true Home Rule."

Jennings, who has served as a McCormick County Council member since 1988, currently serves as council chairman.

Since 1987, he has served as treasurer of the GLEAMNS Human Resources Commission Board of Directors and as liaison to the commission's Policy Council. GLEAMNS serves <u>Greenwood</u>, <u>Laurens</u>, <u>Edgefield</u>, <u>Abbeville</u>, <u>McCormick</u>, <u>Newberry and Saluda counties</u>.

Jennings is a member of the Upper Savannah Council of Government Executive Board and Three Rivers Solid Waste Authority Commission Board, and Chairman of the Tri-County Solid Waste Authority Commission Board. He is also a member of SCAC's Legislative Steering Committee. From 1989 to 1991, he was a member of the Board of Visitors of Piedmont Technical College. From 1969 to 1972, he was a member of the McCormick County Schools Board of Trustees.

Jennings is a member of the Mt. Lebanon Baptist Church in Parksville where he has served as a member of the Deacon Ministry since 1969. He is Chairman of the Finance Ministry, a member of the Male Chorus and Usher Ministry, and a former Adult Sunday School Teacher. Jennings is also a member of the Quarter Century Club of Greenwood Mills.

He has been a member of the Masonic Lodge #96 since 1969, and previously served as treasurer of Union #3 and the Springfield Singing Convention.

Jennings received the Community Service Award in 1998 from the Greenwood Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., Carl D. Perkins Human Services Award in 2008 for Community Action Programs throughout the Southeast Region IV, Presidential Medallion in 2009 from Piedmont Technical College, and Man of the Year Award for 2010–11 from Shiloh AME Church Men's Club.

He attended public schools in McCormick County and received an Associate degree in Fiber Management from Piedmont Technical College.

SCAC ELECTS OTHER OFFICERS

The SCAC elected other officers as follows: FIRST VICE PRESIDENT—Dwight L. Stewart Jr., Clarendon County Council Chairman; SECOND VICE PRESIDENT— Johnnie Wright Sr., Orangeburg County Council Chairman; THIRD VICE PRESIDENT—Paul A. Cain, Oconee County Council Member; SECRETARY—Steve Willis, Lancaster County Administrator; and TREASURER—Belinda D. Copeland, Darlington County.

SCAC ELECTS THREE BOARD MEMBERS AND RE-ELECTS FOUR BOARD MEMBERS

The SCAC elected C. David Chinnis, Dorchester County Council Member, to SCAC's Board of Directors for 2019–22. The Association also elected Robert Winkler, York County Council Member, and Roy Costner III, Pickens County Council Chairman, to fill the unexpired terms of Board Members Paul Cain and Johnnie Wright Sr.

The SCAC re-elected the following board members for 2018–22: Joseph R. Branham, Chester County Council Vice Chairman; Paul A. Cain, Oconee County Council Member; Joseph B. Dill, Greenville County Council Member; and Charles T. Edens, Sumter County Council Member.

The SCAC, chartered on June 22, 1967, is a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization whose membership includes all 46 counties in South Carolina. Governed by a 29-member board of directors elected each year by county officials at the Association's annual conference, the SCAC is the only organization representing county governments in the state.

The Association provides a number of services, programs, and activities to county governments and their officials, including: research and technical assistance; education and training; legal assistance; policy development, advocacy, and legislative information; publications, including a magazine and newsletter; meetings and conferences; public information, including an annual directory and website; and financial services, including the S.C. Counties Workers' Compensation Trust and S.C. Counties Property & Liability Trust.