

Johnnie Wright Sr., President Orangeburg County

Timothy C. Winslow Executive Director

August 7, 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

<u>NOTE</u>: Upon request, a photo of SCAC's newly-elected president will be provided by e-mail.

Contact: Stuart Morgan Public Information Director

SCAC ELECTS PRESIDENT, ORANGEBURG COUNTY COUNCIL CHAIRMAN JOHNNIE WRIGHT SR.

SCAC ELECTS OTHER OFFICERS AND RE-ELECTS BOARD MEMBERS

SCAC elected officers for 2020-21 and re-elected board members at its 53rd Annual Conference, held August 1 - 3.

Elected PRESIDENT was Orangeburg County Council Chairman Johnnie Wright Sr. He succeeds Clarendon County Council Chairman Dwight L. Stewart Jr., who served as 2019–20 SCAC President.

"I am humbled and deeply grateful to be elected to serve as SCAC president this year," Johnnie Wright said. "I look forward to serving you and working together as we strive to serve our citizens in these challenging times. I also encourage each of you to be active in our Association and to call on me or the SCAC staff if there are ways the Association can be of service to your county.

"Our successes since the SCAC's inception in 1967 are the result of county officials from across South Carolina collaborating to create a united voice for county government at the State House," he added. "In the coming months, I will be calling on you as we develop our legislative agenda for the 2021 legislative session. I encourage you to stay informed by reading SCAC's *Friday Reports* and *Legislative Alerts*, and to make timely contact with members of the General Assembly. I look forward to your participation and support!"

SCAC Executive Director Tim Winslow said Orangeburg County has benefitted from Orangeburg County Council Chairman Johnnie Wright's leadership for more than two decades.

"Chairman Wright is a remarkable man and is always generous with his time and advice," Winslow added. 'The entire SCAC staff is excited to have him guide the Association into the next year."

Wright has served for 25 years on Orangeburg County Council since he was elected to Council District 1 in 1994. He has served as Council Chairman since 2009, and was re-elected in 2019 to serve another two-year-term as chairman.

A native of Eutawville, Wright graduated from Roberts High School in 1964. He received an Associate Degree in Business Management and a diploma in Radio and Television from Trident Technical College. Wright also completed a four-year apprenticeship program in Electric/Electronic Technology at the Charleston Naval Shipyard.

He is a small business owner, a Vietnam veteran and a life member of the NAACP. Wright is also a member of many other organizations and boards.

He and his wife, Vernell, have six children and 14 grandchildren.

Winslow said SCAC's immediate past president, Dwight Stewart, proved to be a remarkable leader during the past year.

"Thanks to his steady direction as SCAC President," Winslow added, "the Association was able to thrive and succeed despite numerous national crises."

SCAC ELECTS OTHER OFFICERS

SCAC elected other officers as follows: FIRST VICE PRESIDENT—Paul A. Cain, Oconee County Council Vice Chairman; SECOND VICE PRESIDENT—Debra B. Summers, Lexington County Council Member; THIRD VICE PRESIDENT—Roy Costner III, Pickens County Council Chairman; SECRETARY—Steve Willis, Lancaster County Administrator; and TREASURER—Belinda D. Copeland, Darlington County.

SCAC RE-ELECTS BOARD MEMBERS

SCAC re-elected five board members to four-year terms (to expire 2024): Mary D. Anderson, Chesterfield County Council Member; John Q. Atkinson Jr., Marion County Council Member; Alphonso Bradley, Florence County Council Member; J. Clay Killian, Aiken County Administrator; and Henry H. Livingston III, Newberry County Council Chairman. SCAC voted for Charles T. Jennings (McCormick County Council Chairman), SCAC's Immediate Past President for 2019–20, to serve the unexpired term (to expire in 2022) of SCAC Third Vice President Roy Costner.

SCAC, chartered on June 22, 1967, is a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization whose membership includes all 46 counties in South Carolina. Governed by a 29-member board of directors elected each year by county officials at the Association's annual conference, SCAC is the only organization representing county governments in the state.

The Association provides a number of services, programs, and activities to county governments and their officials, including: research and technical assistance; education and training; legal assistance; policy development, advocacy, and legislative information; publications, including a magazine and newsletter; meetings and conferences; public information, including an annual directory and website; and financial services, including the S.C. Counties Workers' Compensation Trust and S.C. Counties Property & Liability Trust.

###