2023 SCAC AWARDS COMPETITION



J. Mitchell Graham Award Barrett Lawrimore Award





CELEBRATING INNOVATION AND COLLABORATION

SCAC's annual awards program recognizes innovative projects completed by South Carolina counties during the past fiscal year. The program accepts applications that address all areas of county government, from simple unique ideas that extend limited resources to major collaborative efforts that tackle complex issues.

INNOVATION

Winners represent the best qualities of local governance: attention to details; service to citizens; efficient use of tax dollars; and improvement in the quality of life. They demonstrate how creative problem-solving and collaboration can achieve impressive results, and they offer new ideas for other counties to consider.

The J. Mitchell Graham Memorial Award recognizes counties that address community challenges, implement operational improvements, or enhance their citizens' quality of life in a unique way. First presented in 1973, this award honors the memory of J. Mitchell Graham, who served as SCAC's president from 1969-70.

MARK YOUR CALENDAR

FRIDAY, APRIL 21 Entries must be submitted online or delivered to SCAC by **5 p.m.**

MONDAY, MAY 15 Presentation files due (videos, PowerPoint, etc.)

> WEDNESDAY, MAY 24 SCAC's 2023 Awards Competition

The Barrett Lawrimore Memorial Regional

Cooperation Award highlights the critical need for regional partnerships, strategies, and solutions. The competition for this award is open to two or more political subdivisions (counties or county partnerships formed with cities, towns, districts, or councils of government) that worked together to complete an innovative project. The award is named in memory of Barrett S. Lawrimore, who served as SCAC's president in 2004.

Applications

Counties are invited to submit applications describing the purpose and significance of their innovative project. Each county may submit one entry for the J. Mitchell Graham Memorial Award and multiple entries for the Barrett Lawrimore Memorial Regional Cooperation Award.

If a county worked with multiple local governments, its project should be submitted as an entry for the Barrett Lawrimore Memorial Regional Award. While elements of regional cooperation may also include partnerships with non-profit organizations, state agencies, private entities, or multiple departments within one county, these organizations should not be the primary partnership to meet the entry criteria for the Barret Lawrimore Competition. When appropriate, judges reserve the right to change the award category of any application.

Projects must be put into action or completed within the last completed fiscal year (FY 2021-22) or the current fiscal year (FY 2022-23); however, they may be initiated prior to this time period. This is change from previous competitions, where the project timeframe occurred within the most recently completed fiscal year.

All applications must be submitted online <u>SCCounties.org/awards</u> or delivered to SCAC by 5 P.M. on Friday, April 21.

Collaboration

Applicants who meet the application deadline and all requirements will be scheduled to present their entries at the 2023 Awards Competition on May 24. This event will take place at SC ETV in Columbia and will be livestreamed.

A panel of three or four judges will be appointed by SCAC to select the winning entires. The judges will review all applications and presentations before independently scoring each entry. **The Association's Board of Directors and staff do not participate in the selection process.**

CELEBRATION

Award winners will be announced during SCAC's 2023 Annual Conference at the Wild Dunes Resort on Isle of Palms.

In selecting a statewide winner for the J. Mitchell Graham Memorial Award, counties will compete in three population categories:

- Over 150,000
- 50,000-150,000
- Under 50,000

An Honorable Mention entry may be chosen from each category to receive an award, and the large J. Mitchell Graham Cup will be presented to the state winner.

The Barrett Lawrimore Memorial Regional Award winner(s) will receive a large trophy to honor this achievement.

Entrants also gain opportunities for publicity through SCCounties.org, *County Focus* magazine, press releases sent to local news media; and social media.

QUESTIONS?

Contact Susan Turkopuls via <u>sturkopuls@scac.sc</u> or by calling 1-800-922-6081.

GET THE TOOLKIT & APPLY ONLINE

SCCounties.org/awards

Visit SCAC's website to access the Awards Toolkit and apply online.

The toolkit includes:

- All rules and requirements;
- Instructions for preparing the project description and support materials;
- Answers to frequently asked questions;
- Video of previous presentations;
- Examples of previous award-winning projects;
- Lists of previous award recipients;
- A fillable PDF application; andA sample judges' scale.
- A sample judges' scale.



J. MITCHELL GRAHAM MEMORIAL AWARD WINNERS

2021 Greenwood County 2004 Lexington County 1987 Beaufort County	
2020 Lancaster County 2003 Orangeburg County 1986 Aiken County	
2019 Dorchester County 2002 Anderson County 1985 Greenwood Cou	nty
2018 Charleston County 2001 Anderson County 1984 Union County	
2017 Charleston County 2000 Horry County 1983 Greenville Count	y
2016Colleton County1999York County1982Chester County	
2015 Barnwell County 1998 Aiken County 1981 Chesterfield Cou	nty
2014 Abbeville County 1997 Georgetown County 1980 York County	
2013 Newberry County 1996 Berkeley County 1979 Beaufort County	
2012 Colleton County 1995 Florence County 1978 Oconee County	
2011 Horry County 1994 Richland County 1977 Richland County	
2010 Orangeburg County 1993 Charleston County 1976 Beaufort County	and
2009 Georgetown County 1992 York County Greenwood Cou	nty
2008 Lexington County 1991 Greenwood County 1975 Edgefield County	
2007 Greenwood County 1990 Beaufort County 1974 Lexington Count	y
2006 Newberry County 1989 Charleston County 1973 Charleston Coun	ty

BARRETT LAWRIMORE MEMORIAL REGIONAL COOPERATION AWARD WINNERS

- 2022 Beaufort County: Southern Lowcountry Stormwater Design Manual
- 2021 Lancaster County: Operation Significant Impact
- 2020 Berkeley County: Project SEARCH
- 2019 Charleston County: Launch with NASA
- 2018 Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun and Orangeburg Counties: Bamberg-Barnwell Emergency Medical Center
- 2017 Greenville County: I-map Finding Essential Services
- 2016 Spartanburg County: Operation Educate
- 2015 Spartanburg County: Senior Wellness Partnership
- 2014 Abbeville, Anderson, Barnwell, and Jasper Counties
- 2012 Lexington and Richland Counties
- 2011 Beaufort and Jasper Counties
- 2010 Western Piedmont Regional Emergency Management Task Force
- 2009 Greenwood County and GLEAMNS HR Commission
- 2008 Western Piedmont Regional Emergency Management Task Force
- 2007 Beaufort, Jasper, and Hampton Counties
- 2006 Western Piedmont Regional Emergency Management Task Force
- 2005 Berkeley, Charleston, and Dorchester Counties
- 2004 Florence, Georgetown, and Horry Counties
- 2003 Sumter and Lee Counties
- 2002 Anderson County Partnership
- 1999 Three Rivers Solid Waste Authority



SOUTH CAROLINA ASSOCIATION OF COUNTI

1919 Thurmond Mall • PO Box 8207 • Columbia, SC 29202-8207 (803) 252-7255 • (800) 922-6081 • Fax: (803) 252-0379 scac@scac.sc • SCCounties.org

