

Contact: Mary-Kathryn Craft

mkcraft@scac.sc.

(803) 252-7255, ext. 359

For Immediate Release

August 22, 2023

2023 Institute of Government Features 43 Graduates from Counties Statewide

Forty-three county officials recently graduated from the South Carolina Association of Counties' (SCAC) Institute of Government for County Officials, Levels I and II.

"It is an honor for me to recognize members of the class of 2023," said 2022-23 SCAC President Debra B. Summers, Lexington County Councilwoman, when recognizing graduates at the SCAC Annual Conference general session on Aug. 2. "Thank you for your dedication to county government, as demonstrated by your graduation."

Level 1 graduates were:

Anderson County—Glenn Davis, Council Member; Matt Hogan, Roads and Bridges Manger

Bamberg County—Chip Maier, IT and Administration

Barnwell County— Linda Cook, Human Resource Manager

Beaufort County—Jared Fralix, Assistant County Administrator

Chesterfield County—Benjamin Conklin, Council Member

Clarendon County— Hampton Barrineau, Director Emergency Management

Dillon County—Detrice Dawkins, Council Vice Chairwoman

Fairfield County—Douglas Pauley, Council Chairman

Greenville County—Stephen Shaw, Council Member

Horry County—Ashley Carroll, Clerk to Council; Barry Spivey, Council Member

Lancaster County— Cathy McDaniel, Procurement Director

Laurens County—Jeff Carroll, Council Vice Chairman; Shirley Clark, Council Member; Melissa Ferqueron, Executive

Assistant to County Administrator; Thomas Higgs, County Administrator; Cheyenne Noffz, Clerk to Council

Lexington County—Amber Conger, Library Director; Michael Spires, Deputy Administrator

McCormick County—Jacqueline Brown, Council Member

Orangeburg County—Joseph Garvin, Council Member

Richland County—Gretchen Barron, Council Member; Anettte Kirylo, Clerk to Council; Jesica Mackey, Council Vice

Chairwoman; Lori Thomas, Assistant County Administrator

Sumter County—Carlton Washington, Council Member

Level II graduates were:

Bamberg County—**Everett Comer**, Council Vice Chairman

Beaufort County—**Denise Christmas**, Finance Director

Berkeley County—Steve Davis, Council Member

Chester County—Mike Levister, Planning/Zoning Director

Dorchester County—Stuart T. Friddle, Council Chairman

Fairfield County—Shirley Greene, Council Member

Greenville County—Mike Barnes and Stephen Shaw, Council Members

Jasper County—John Kemp Council Member; Cathy McDaniel, Procurement Director

Lexington County—Lynn Sturkie, County Administrator

McCormick County—Charles Cook, Council Member

Newberry County—John Scurry, Council Member

Oconee County—John Elliott, Council Chairman

Williamsburg County—Torrance Wilson, Council Member

York County— Karen Brogdon, Clerk to Council

The Institute of Government for County Officials provides elected county leaders and employees with the opportunity to enhance their skills and abilities. Participants must complete 27 hours of instruction to graduate from Level I and 18 hours of instruction to graduate from Level II.

SCAC partners with the Joseph P. Riley Jr. Center for Livable Communities, College of Charleston, to offer the Institute of Government three times a year. Clemson University's Master of Public Administration program sponsors the Institute.

SCAC is a nonprofit and nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving county government in South Carolina. Chartered in 1967, it is governed by a Board of Directors composed of county officials from across the state and works to empower its members through advocacy, education and collaboration. Learn more at www.sccounties.org.

###

Editor's Note: Group photos of the Level I and Level II graduates in attendance at the SCAC Annual Conference are attached.